Hi all, I've been on Upwork for a few years and have done several jobs (I use several platforms). I recently updated my Upwork profile, including W-9/photo/etc. (all verified and okay, according to Upwork) and now it seems my history - everything - has been erased. Minus the tests I took.
My connects are at zero (last week I applied for 3 regular jobs, so it should be at 54, no?) - but they don't exist. My former clients don't exist. I have no connects. There is no 'Help Desk' button, which hubby has on his account. And when I tried logging in the other day, the entire system was shut down.
Can someone please let me know what's going on? It seems like much more of a headache trying to be updated on Upwork than any other site I deal with and I'm getting pretty frustrated. Thanks in advance for any answers/ideas/information. I appreciate it. 🙂
I checked here and it looks like you have a duplicate account. This account that you are using right now is the most recent account you have created. Please know that you are only allowed to have one Upwork account as this is a violation of our ToS. Someone from our team will also reach out to further assist you about this issue. You can access your ticket here.
Hi Joanne, no I don't have multiple accounts. I had an account, which I changed my name/email update to match the W-9 forms (it was under 'Mel Candea,' now it's under 'Melony...Candea'). The second account you might see under 'director...' is my husband's - he also works here. It isn't a multiple account. He does film and film editing; I do writing. Either way, my account was clean until I did an update with an updated name and W-9, where my prior work and my bids were erased. He still has his connects. It's not a problem if I have to erase my profile from here so he can continue working - but how counterproductive to lose a freelancer because a married couple both work online? Just let me know. And thank you for your time. 🙂 Mel Candea
P.S. One thing that is quite confusing: if Upwork took my update to be a new account, why on earth would they transfer my test scores (taken 2 years ago) to my *new* account? In other words, it was recognized as me - but not fully. It really makes no sense to me. Thanks again. Mel
I'd just like to confirm that the system didn't create a duplicate account automatically when you updated your original account and the test scores displayed on this account are shown as by design. Our team will follow up on your open ticket and assist you further so please keep checking for new updates. Thank you.
Talk about adding insult to injury. It's hard to imagine anything more frustrating than reaching out for help because something happened that shouldn't have, clearly outside your intention, and receive a sanctimoneous response about how you were violating TOS by not having anticipated and fixed Upwork's glitch.