🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Credit for your written work?
Page options
amy_waring
Community Member

Credit for your written work?

I am relatively new to freelancing as a copywriter. I completed a job for a client to write an article on a complex technology topic. The article took me much longer than expected due to the complexity of research required. I put a lot of time and energy into it. I asked the client if they could send me a link when it was published so that I could include it in my portfolio. They said they would do this but didn't and then cancelled the contract for ongoing work. Later, I came across the article that I had written online. It was attributed to a totally different journalist whose profile stated that they were an expert journalist in the field. The article was totally the same as mine with a few minor changes in the order of contents. I asked the client how this had happened and why I had not been credited with my own work. They said that 'a byline was never discussed and wasn't part of the contract (as is typical of SEO content writing)'... but that 'I could still use the article as part of my portfolio'.  I was not aware at the point of taking on the contract that a completely different person would be falsly  credited with all my research on a complex topic but I am new to copywriting and the client seems sure that this is acceptable.  Is this plagiarism or if not, how can I include the article that I spent so many days on in my portolio when the photo and description of a male journalist and technology consultant is visible on the link to the article? I would appreciate any advice! 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
roberty1y
Community Member

As far as I'm aware, when you do any work for a client here, they own the full rights to it unless you had a prior agreement that stipulated something different. I think the same applies to visual artwork and software.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23
roberty1y
Community Member