🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Deducted working hours
Page options
chloeliu
Community Member

Deducted working hours

Hi, I am new to Upwork. I have recently started working a project on an hourly rate. My time tracker shows that I spent 2 hours 20 minutes working hours but it only shows 1 hour 33 minutes on Client's recent history. (ps: I did turn off the time tracker when I am not working.)

My questions are:

Why my working hours is deducted?

Do I need to wait for the client's approval to get billed or I will get bill automatically?
What is the time cycle for the screenshot? I am confused that I got screenshot twice in 10 minutes or screen capturing not on time.   

I have been struggling these for a while and I hope someone can tell me what is happening. Thank you!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Chloe L wrote:

I have been struggling these for a while and I hope someone can tell me what is happening. Thank you!

The tracker counts and bills in 10 minute segments and takes a screenshot once per 10 minute segment provided there is activity (keyboard and / or mouseclicks)
The segments are always XX.00 to XX.10, XX.10 to XX.20, XX.20 to XX.30, XX.30 to XX.40, XX.40 to XX.50 and XX.50 to XX.00

The screenshots happen at a random point within the segment, so can be as close a 1 minute apart and as far as (nearly) 20 minutes apart. If you turn the tracker off in a segment before a screenshot was taken, the segment is not billed.

The way to be fair to yourself and your client, it makes sense to work in full 10 minute segments.

Time without any activity (no mouse or keyboard activity) is not counted or billed or charged.

Tracked time is not suitable for working short spurts of minutes here and minutes there. It's also not suitable for work tthat does not involve the keyboard and/or the mouse.

You don't have to do anything, the client is billed automatically on Monday for all time logged during the previous week.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6