cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Digital nomads - I don't think so.

Community Guru
Marcia M Member Since: Apr 3, 2013
1 of 7

So I'm a US citizen who lives in the UK. The US is one of the few countries that forces citizens to file taxes, no matter where in the world they live. I've been doing this for the close to 10 years I've lived in the UK, without a hitch.

When I joined oDesk, I asked to fill out a W9 form (that all self-employed US taxpayers have to fill out when they start work with a new client). I was able to do this, no problem.

So now I need to change my surname on my W9.  I contact support, and the support person who replies says they have to temporarily change my profile so it shows that I'm in the US, so that I can access my W9. As soon as I change my name myself, they'll change my location back to the UK.  At the bottom of the reply, there's  signature thingy about how wonderful it is to be a digital nomad.

Fine. I go in there and make the change to my name. I have to reenter my social security number and my tax status (sole proprieter), but that's OK.

The problem is, the form has a drop down box for state - and there are no states in the UK. It also gives me an error message when I try to enter my UK postal code; it only allows me to enter 5 digit US zip codes.

So I contact support again, and get another person who tells me I can contact the IRS so I can find out about my tax status, get a social security number, blah blah blah. I've had a US social security number since I was 14 and been filing taxes as a non-US resident since 2005. I don't need tax advice, and I didn't ask for it. The IRS (US tax department) has my foreign addresss on record - 6-digit postal code and all - and I've never had a problem. Never had a problem with W9s for any other client either.