🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Getting Paid from Unresponsive Client
Page options
Community Member

Getting Paid from Unresponsive Client

I did some work for a client about 2 weeks ago now. My client decided to not continue working with me, after I completed the work and sent it back to her. She requested a refund saying that she never asked for the work completed. I have proof that she did and I completed exactly what she wanted. I ended the contract, though have not heard back from her in almost a week. How do I get paid for this contract? Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6
prestonhunter
Community Member

If this is a FIXED-PRICE CONTRACT:

As a freelancer, I get paid AUTOMATICALLY if a client is unresponsive.

re: "I did some work for a client about 2 weeks ago now. My client decided to not continue working with me, after I completed the work and sent it back to her. She requested a refund saying that she never asked for the work completed."

There are:

- unresponsive clients

- clients who ask for a refund

By definition, these are not the same thing.

If I submit my work for a fixed-price contract and the client is UNRESPONSIVE, then I get paid AUTOMATICALLY.

Upwork will release ALL the money in escrow to me.

If a client asks for a refund, the client is not "unresponsive." The client DID something.

If the client FORMALLY asks for a refund, then the client's request BLOCKS payment from being released to the me.

If I do nothing, then all escrow money will go back to the client.

But I can DECLINE the refund request. That creates a "dispute."

The matter then goes to "mediation."

An Upwork mediator will ask the freelancer and the client questions. I the client is "unresponsive," then the matter will be decided in favor of the freelancer, and all money will go to the freelancer.

As you can see: It is GOOD if a client is unresponsive. When a client is unresponsive, that helps ensure that I get paid.