🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Hourly sub-contracting loophole?
Page options
Community Member

Hourly sub-contracting loophole?

DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A LAWYER. I AM NOT AN UPWORK REPRESENTATIVE. THIS POST IS STRICTLY MY PERSONAL ANALYSIS OF THE UPWORK TERMS OF SERVICE AND MAY NOT BE CONSTRUED AS LEGAL ADVICE.

There has been recent discussion on sub-contracting. Always, part of the answer is that it is prohibited on Hourly contracts. The reason given is that a Freelancer (FL) cannot permit another person to use their freelancer account, which includes tracking time (see this and that). Also, subsection 3.2 of the Terms of Use agreement stipulates that the FL or Agency must disclose to the Client who will do the work before they begin to work. So, the logical interpretation is that one cannot sub-contract on Hourly jobs, because of prohibitions regarding the Work Diary. But that interpretation is based on an incomplete set of information.

I direct your attention to the Optional Service Contract Terms agreement. When agreeing to the Terms of Service, a user agrees to the Optional Service Contract Terms agreement, which essentially says that a Client auto-approves (approval can be revoked by the Client) sub-contracting or outsourcing by the FL or Agency that they hired. Of course, the Terms of Use agreement, subsection 3.2, mandates that the Client be notified before such activity.

Now, the only issue is the Work Diary permissions restriction. Enter expense reimbursement on Hourly contracts. A FL can submit expenses for reimbursement (such as materials). The Client must approve the request for the reimbursement to be paid, which is governed by the Hourly, Bonus, and Expense Payment Agreement with Escrow Instructions chapter of the Terms of Service (critical note - standard fees for both Client and FL apply). From what I can find, there are no restrictions on what qualifies as an "expense", so outsourced labor qualifies.

To recap: