🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is this a scam?
Page options
0a3b05d5
Community Member

Is this a scam?

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Upwork, but I did manage to land one contract I've been working on! However, about two weeks ago I received a direct offer from a client to run Facebook Ads for a company called **Edited for Community Guidelines**. They provided links to their facebook and website pages, which I did NOT click. I did do a google search and found what looks to be a legit business, but I was still suspicious so I declined the contract.

An hour ago, I got another direct offer from another user, also wanting me to run a promotional facebook ad... and guess what their company was? **Edited for Community Guidelines** I'm a deeply suspicious person anyway, but now I'm almost positive this is a scam. Has anyone else encounted this?

TLDR; a couple weeks apart, I received direct offers from different clients for the same company. Scam likely?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
PradeepH

Hi Kyllie,

I am sorry to hear about your experience with this client. I checked the job post you were referring to and it appears that it's already been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork TOS.

Please check out this course for more tips on staying safe on Upwork and please use the flag option found on each job post or message anytime you’d like to report a violation.

- Pradeep

Upwork

View solution in original post

28 REPLIES 28
yofazza
Community Member

It's not the facebook page link which might be a legitimate business somebody else owned. They should also share some links to download some bad files.

PradeepH

Hi Kyllie,

I am sorry to hear about your experience with this client. I checked the job post you were referring to and it appears that it's already been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork TOS.