cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JSS Calculation seems off

Highlighted
Jeanne M Member Since: Oct 17, 2018
1 of 17

I'm hoping someone can help me with some information. I am relatively new to Upwork (Oct 2018) but I worked hard and was Rising Talent by December, with 100% feedback. However, I had one client, who I completed less than an hour of work for (on a trial assignment), who gave me a poor rating (unfair and inaccurate doesn't begin to describe it) and that tanked my JSS to 88% (which obviously took me out of the RT program). I have received two more 100% feedbacks since then, but my JSS is still only at 89%. So I am sitting with nine 5-star ratings and one 3.1. No matter how I look at it, that just doesn't compute.

Is there anyone with more experience who can give me some insight as to what is going on? How can one tank it so far down, yet more positives don't seem to make a difference?  Any help or info would be greatly appreciated. 

Highlighted
Community Leader
Allen W Member Since: Oct 7, 2017
2 of 17

Your thread will likely be routed to a JSS thread shortly, as there are thousands of posts on this topic. The long and short of it is that there is more than just public feedback that goes into the JSS. That 3.1 person could have left you horrific private feedback that could drag your score down. 

Highlighted
3 of 17
I skimmed through some of the JSS ones, but those that I saw didn't answer my question exactly.  So clients can leave private feedback that freelancers don't get to see?
Highlighted
Community Leader
4 of 17

Yes, just like we can leave private and public feedback, so can they. I ran into a similar issue early on with my Upwork experience. A 4.1 kept me down for a while. No idea what they put privately. But even those 5.0 people could leave less than stellar feedback and we'd never really know.

Highlighted
5 of 17