🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Paying VAT
Page options
digitaljacker
Community Member

Paying VAT

Hi, I am a freelancer in the UK. Of course, like all, on my reports I see the VAT that I am being charged.

Please could someone explain how this works? I know that the VAT is only on the service fee that upwork charge, not the actual money I earn after that fee (if that makes sense). 

So, let's say the fee for one week, for one client is $20, I would pay $2 in VAT. Is that $2 coming out of my pocket, so I am really paying $22 for that client, or is that $2 coming out of the $20 service fee, so $18 to upwork and $2 to VAT?

If that is the case that I am paying for it, so I am paying $22 for that week, how do I go about claiming this VAT back, or not pay for this, as I am not VAT registered?

Thanks

Jack

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Yes, VAT comes out of the money you earn, so like any expense, you should make sure that you're charging your clients enough to cover this. You have to pay if you're not VAT registered, just like you do for all goods and services that you purchase in the UK. (If you're not VAT registered, that just means that you don't have to charge your own clients VAT - as long as your income is below the threshold - but Upwork needs to charge you VAT for THEIR services.)

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Yes, VAT comes out of the money you earn, so like any expense, you should make sure that you're charging your clients enough to cover this. You have to pay if you're not VAT registered, just like you do for all goods and services that you purchase in the UK. (If you're not VAT registered, that just means that you don't have to charge your own clients VAT - as long as your income is below the threshold - but Upwork needs to charge you VAT for THEIR services.)

That clears it up, thanks!