cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quick question regarding withdrawals in the UK.

Highlighted
Henry J Member Since: May 21, 2014
1 of 12
Hi, I'm relatively new to odesk and have a question about withdrawal methods in the UK. odesk advises that local bank account withdrawal is the best method, but I find that the time it takes to withdraw can be a little bit inconvenient. Because of this, I wondered if any other methods were faster? I don't mind paying a bit extra if I can get access to the money quicker. My first thought was PayPal, but I didn't want to withdraw without checking the times first. Is there an official guide line on how long certain withdrawal methods will take? Or do they all universally take 3 to 5 working days? Thanks in advance for any help.
Highlighted
Community Guru
Gillian Michele N Member Since: Mar 15, 2012
2 of 12
Hi Henry, Welcome. I think the local funds transfer is the cheapest option. The other options appear to carry unpredictable fees. I understand that you don't like waiting too long for your money, but I've been here for over 2 yrs and I think the local transfer is the best option really. This link should help. https://support.odesk.com/entries/23149216-What-fees-and-other-costs-are-associated-with-getting-pai...
Highlighted
Judith P Member Since: Jun 26, 2012
3 of 12
Hi Henry and welcome to a fellow UK freelancer! I generally use Paypal to withdraw my funds at a dollar cost, but it appears almost immediately in my Paypal account so I think it is well worth it. I then transfer to bank account which is far quicker. I used to transfer directly to my bank but found it took too long to show up. I hope that helps Smiley Happy
Highlighted
Community Guru
4 of 12
Hi Judith, How are you finding oDesk in general?
Highlighted
Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
5 of 12