🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Time to set up budget bracket for each projec...
Page options
engr_carl
Community Member

Time to set up budget bracket for each project category Upwork!

I am unsure if this is only happening in our line of work. I have been in Upwork for more than seven years. As I grow with it, I am slowly getting convinced that abusive clients are slowly killing our line of work. 

I am a 3D Artist. Arch-Viz, Interior and Exterior Visualizations, Product Visuals, Animations, etc. There is this growing thread now that Clients tend to pay a penny for an expert outcome. Imagine, I invested more than $10,000 worth of workstations, subscriptions, courses, etc just to accept a $50 worth of project that will eat weeks of my time to finish? 

Well, I know hypocrites will say "then do not get the project". Then this bigger problem occurs, some freelancers from so-called "3rd world countries" will accept the project. Then these clients will continue plaguing the platform with a penny of budget for an expert high-quality outcome. As a matter of fact, I am from a third-world country. The abusive clients will reason out to me that my cost of living is lesser than theirs so why I would charge a premium (the actual price I ask is 20-30% less than the world's average)? Each component of my workstation is far more expensive than the SRP of its origin, I'm talking about 30-50% because of import taxes.

This rant is not mainly for these abusive clients. I would like to call out to Upwork! Start fixing these issues. I know for a fact that we 3D Artists only cover a small percentage of your earnings on this platform. Surely the platform will still exist even if our line of work dies. But I know as well that this plague will continue invade even to your biggest provider.