🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Typical timeline for hiring?
Page options
fedff389
Community Member

Typical timeline for hiring?

Hi!  I am new to upwork and I'm just curious how long it typically takes for customers to hire freelancers once they post?  I have several proposals that have been sitting there for 5 days or more.  How long should I wait?  Is there no way to reach out to them?  Thanks!

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

As a client, I typically hire within a few minutes.

For example, I may post a job, and then receive submissions from freelancers. And then I typically hire a freelancer within about 10 to 20 minutes after I posted the job.

This is NOT the only style of hiring.

Other clients may take many hours or many days to hire somebody.

re: "How long should I wait?"

Wait zero seconds.

You are not supposed to "wait."

Submit a job proposal and then forget about it.

That job is NOT part of your life. It doesn't matter. You don't care.

When a client actually contacts you, THAT is when you pay attention to the job again.

re: "Is there no way to reach out to them?"

No.

There is no way.

If you were able to FIGURE OUT A WAY such as by using clues in their job description to do a Google search and find contact information, and then sening them an email message (for example)... Then this is a violation of Upwork ToS and you could have your Upwork account suspended for doing that.

wescowley
Community Member

It's best not to worry about proposals once you submit them until / if the client comes back to you. I've had people hire me almost instantly after sending a proposal, and I've had some come back days and weeks later. My record is being hired 18 months after I sent the proposal. So, just move on and keep submitting. You can work out scheduling conflicts once enough responses materialize that it's an issue.

Wes C wrote: