🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » she fools me?
Page options
73370b1f
Community Member

she fools me?

hello I have a question
I am new to freelancing
And I applied for a job translating some children's songs into my local language
And after one hour my submission was answered!
And she asked me to talk on Telegram
And indeed, we spoke, and she did not test my skills and asked me to translate an entire book of 100 pages in 3 days! And not just children's songs, and she offered $25 on one page of the book. It was strange and suspicious, and she gave me a PDF file for her company; its name was abstract media house. Not even on the company's website! I think it's a scam!

11 REPLIES 11
nahidhasan771
Community Member

Yeah It’s scam

Thank God I translated only 7 pages

You cannot contact her outside of Upwork before start a contract. It's violation of Upwork's terms of service. 

I do not understand about upwork and terms.

You need to start at the beginning. This information is all about Upwork and how it functions. It will take you some time before you are ready to apply. You have to learn and follow the rules, or you will get scammed and can lose your account if you go outside of Upwork. I know you have questions. The links will provide the answers.

If, after you have read everything, attended all the new freelancer webinar, videos, etc., you still have questions, then bring them to the forum.

You can start by having a photo of you and not a child.

Why did you start working before you were hired???

Community Member

Your profile photo needs to be a photo of yourself. You can request a religious exemption regarding face coverings, if you need one.

Go to this post and follow the instructions - to protect yourself and to become more competitive.  To all freelancers looking for help 

bobafett999
Community Member

Yup. With that profile picture no serious buyer will hire her.

ArjayM

Hi Asmaa,