cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clients who deflect to their own clients for feedback on my work before releasing funds to me

Highlighted
Sarah G Member Since: Apr 19, 2017
1 of 10

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to upwork but am getting lots of bites.  I find some of my clients are operating like this - ignoring the fact that I've sent through my completed work and also ignoring my follow up messages asking for their feedback.  When they finally respond to me they say they are waiting on feedback from "The Client" (THEIR client) before approving the milestone or releasing the funds.

I find this unfair as this is not what is agreed on. My client is the person who hired me on Upwork, right? So that's the only person I'm interested in getting feedback from. None of my contracts have stipulated that the payment will be dependant on a third party's approval of my work.

Have I got things wrong here? Or do I need to specifiy in my contracts so this doesn't keep happening?

Thanks for your answers!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Kat C Member Since: Jul 11, 2016
2 of 10

@sarah G wrote:

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to upwork but am getting lots of bites.  I find some of my clients are operating like this - ignoring the fact that I've sent through my completed work and also ignoring my follow up messages asking for their feedback.  When they finally respond to me they say they are waiting on feedback from "The Client" (THEIR client) before approving the milestone or releasing the funds.

I find this unfair as this is not what is agreed on. My client is the person who hired me on Upwork, right? So that's the only person I'm interested in getting feedback from. None of my contracts have stipulated that the payment will be dependant on a third party's approval of my work.

Have I got things wrong here? Or do I need to specifiy in my contracts so this doesn't keep happening?

Thanks for your answers!