🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Expert professional new to Upwork unable to l...
Page options
b31e7e34
Community Member

Expert professional new to Upwork unable to land gigs

Hi, I've been working in the digital media scene for over 9 years now but I'm quite new to Upwork. I had some experience working on oDesk around 6 years ago but a lot has changed since then. Although I created my Upwork account last year I've still been unable to land a proper gig. 

I would like to know if I should start from small tasks that require little experience or should stick to hunting gigs that require expert experience.

Any ideas would be a great help.

Thanks!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
516ba8cd
Community Member

Hi Imran, when I first started with upwork. I followed all of the upwork tips and advice. I made sure my profile was 100% complete, quizes, etc. Then adding skills and earning the badges helped out immensly "top rated" (Each of these items you can find on upwork support, or google.) Then I promoted my upwork to attract market on other sites or social media. I also started with smaller projects to earn bigger ones. In my opinion, upwork is something that takes time to establish but make sure you get endorsements or accountability from previous work. I hope this somewhat helps. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
91c91775
Community Member

Start small. My first job was $5. The clients don't know you, focus on making yourself seem low risk.

Thanks, Brad for your suggestion. May I know how long did it take for you to match your freelance work and your real-life work experience?

516ba8cd
Community Member