cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FAKE CLIENT + newbie

Highlighted
Divine Claire S Member Since: Nov 27, 2016
1 of 13

Hello everyone! This is my first community post here in Upwork. I am a newbie to freelancing and have been a member in Upwork since October. Its been almost 2 months but still I haven't had a job though I had received a bunch of invitation to interview from some clients. Anyway, there's this "new" client that I had submitted a proposal to his job posting asking for "convert pdf to excel" format blah blah blah. After 10 days, the client "liked" my proposal and said I am "now part of his team" and messaged me instructions on what to do. Now the thing is what he instructed me to do is not what he said in his job post. In his message, he said I have to download a certain software that would keep track on my work entries. What the job turned out to be is that, I have to enter captchas shown in that software I had downloaded and after reaching 5000 entries, I have to email him and say I have done the "quota" and he asked me which payment method do I like and 'some' of the payment methods are outside Upwork. To show him I am very much interested in working ASAP, I did what he asked BUT I only did 8 entries, took a screenshot of the software that also showed the 8 entries I had done, then messaged him saying I am looking forward to officially working with him. I said that I sent him that screenshot as proof that I did the work but I won't do it ALL unless he turn the "Active Candidacy" into an Official Upwork Job. What he did in response to my proof of work is he declined the active job candidacy. I was enraged but I, somewhat, see this coming based from the "shadiness" of his instructions. I am writing this post to vent my frustrations of being a newbie, who are always targeted by these kind of clients here in Upwork. This is also to inform other freelancers like me who haven't had a job in here and are still on the hunt. Be