🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Getting paid in Italy, should I put directly ...
Page options
frika
Community Member

Getting paid in Italy, should I put directly my IBAN?

Hi all,

I am starting to work on my first project and it's my first time as a freelancer.

I am concerned about putting my IBAN on the platform, since I've read about (even if rare) scams  happened using it. I dont' understand how is that possibile, anyway I ask you as for sure there will be a more expert professional knowing how to deal with this practical details.

I have read there's Transferwise to receive and make international payments. It also change your currency from dollars into euros. I have read bad things about this solution too (blocked bank accounts).

Could someone ( Iam asking especially to Italian professionals) give me information about it?

Thank you,

Federica

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Federica F wrote:

I am starting to work on my first project and it's my first time as a freelancer.

I am concerned about putting my IBAN on the platform, since I've read about (even if rare) scams  happened using it.

You have? Where? About Upwork?

Personally I do not use direct to local bank any longer because the exchange rate used by Upwork's banking partners is shockingly bad and it takes days.

I use my PayPal (which then allows me to transfer to my bank account) or my US virtual bank account or Payoneer.  

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
petra_r
Community Member

Federica F wrote:

I am concerned about putting my IBAN on the platform, since I've read about (even if rare) scams  happened using it.

You have? Where? About Upwork?

Personally I do not use direct to local bank any longer because the exchange rate used by Upwork's banking partners is shockingly bad and it takes days.

I use my PayPal (which then allows me to transfer to my bank account) or my US virtual bank account or Payoneer.