🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Job deleted on Upwork / client is asking for ...
Page options
476c130c
Community Member

Job deleted on Upwork / client is asking for payment on materials / software before start of trainin

Hi, I am very new to Upwork and I am not very aware how everything works. I got an email the day after I submitted a proposal that I was scheduled for an online interview. I got hired by one of the client's hiring managers right after the interview and sent me the contract. I  have read and signed it already, then the hiring manager also oriented me of the job etc. and have asked of the 10% payment to their "only trusted vendor" (in my payment of choice via Perfect Money / Money Gram / BITCON / PAYPONEER) of the total materials / software before I could start training.  She said that it would be reimbursed during training week.  I had a bad feeling about this "client" already because they are asking me for money and I kept on checking Upwork but the contract is not appearing on my account so I have checked again their job posting on Upwork but it has been deleted already, I also checked my email and just discovered that the email for interview is not really from Upwork it just says, "... (name of the sender) via Upwork" and has used the logo of Upwork on the email body itself. Also found out that Upwork removed the job post because it is not in compliance of their "Terms and Services". Should I report this straight away to Upwork and stop communicating as well with the "client" via Telegram? 

4 REPLIES 4
martina_plaschka
Community Member

You should never have started communicating with them on Telegram. This is not allowed. 

In case you are still not sure, this is a scam. 

Hi Martina, thank you for your answer. Will be more cautious from now on. 

Hi Martina

Want to bounce my experience quickly - hope you can advise!