🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » New to Upwork
Page options
bdf3c098
Community Member

New to Upwork

Hello.

I am new to Upwork, and quite frankly I'm a little scared. I've never worked with a VA before and so far I've interviewd one person who acted a little anxious to get the job. One of my fears is that I end up paying more that it was established from the start and I can't get my money back.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Welcome. 

Don't worry so much, there is nothing to fear.

You WILL make mistakes. That is part of business and part of hiring.

You should not hire only one person, of course. Definitely hire at least three. I would personally hire five or more. And continue working only with the one or ones that you value the most.

Some will be great! Some will be terrible. Many will be in between. There is no way to know until you hire them and work with them. At the very least I think you will need to work with somebody for an hour or two to see how they work out for you.

If you only hire one person, how will you compare her? How will you know you are getting the best value for your money?

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

Welcome. 

Don't worry so much, there is nothing to fear.

You WILL make mistakes. That is part of business and part of hiring.

You should not hire only one person, of course. Definitely hire at least three. I would personally hire five or more. And continue working only with the one or ones that you value the most.

Some will be great! Some will be terrible. Many will be in between. There is no way to know until you hire them and work with them. At the very least I think you will need to work with somebody for an hour or two to see how they work out for you.

If you only hire one person, how will you compare her? How will you know you are getting the best value for your money?