🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: Seeking Advice: New to Upwork and Navigat...
Page options
745ea6c4
Community Member

Seeking Advice: New to Upwork and Navigating the Freelance Landscape

Hello, everyone,

I'm relatively new to Upwork. Although my account was created last year, it's only now that I am actively searching for jobs while I am in-between employment. Initially, I thought freelancing would be a viable option; however, I'm finding it quite challenging to even receive a response to the positions I apply for.

I'm starting to think that a change in mindset might be necessary. Could anyone share their experiences or recommendations on how to successfully navigate the freelance marketplace on Upwork?

Thank you in advance for your insights!

2 REPLIES 2
5ae932d8
Community Member

Hi Miriam,

I have been here for about a month and from what I heard its the hardest starting off and gets easier as you go along, or at least find some form of work-which is gruelling at the start. I have earned the rising talent badge but still haven't recieved any contact from buyers.

I guess I have to keep trying but there were videos on Youtube that claimed they are freelancers who sent 100+ proposals and still haven't found work. It is clearly not the extremely rosy career option the way it looks like it from the outside.

For me, this has been my strategy and you can use it:

• I write unique cover letters for each client. They are long and hard to do, but it gives me satisfaction
  • I have 100%-ed my profile with chapters from my book, my reviews (In short I have a powerful alibi before entering Upwork and it definitely helps).