🐈
» Forums » Clients » Freelancers Ignoring what is agreed during in...
Page options
e293a590
Community Member

Freelancers Ignoring what is agreed during interview

I noticed that when I hire writers and we agree on No-AI rule, they still turn around to use the AI. Now, as a writer myself and someone conversant with how AI works, I know that when AI gives you content, you will have to find the references yourself. I hired this freelancer to write on education. She submitted the work. At first glance, it was okay. But when I read thru the 6000 words, I noticed several places where the content was extracted from energy business. She did not even bother to refine it.

She is the sixth freelancer I noticed that did that.

Upwork should make it possible for clients to change feedbacks left on their profiles. Some of these freelancers just want to submit a job and get paid, even if they did subpar work.

6 REPLIES 6
759e32fa

Hi Akinkunle,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We understand how important it is to receive the work you asked for when you offered the contract to freelancers.

While we don't have any oversight about what goes on in the contract, and we cannot judge the quality of the work provided by the freelancer, our system offers an option to request a refund whether full or partial. However, please keep in mind that once the funds are released to the freelancers, it is at their discretion whether they'll issue a refund or not. 

Please also be aware that you have the option to ask for revision when they submit their work on a fixed-price contract. That way, the funds will remain in Escrow until you release it to them.

As for the feedback, you can only change your public feedback if they enable this feature on their end. Remember, there is also an option to leave private feedback. This is specially designed so that we can get your honest rating on the freelancers' quality of work.

~ AJ
Upwork