🐈
» Forums » Clients » Low Activity Level in Freelancer's Work Diary...
Page options
dcrabill
Community Member

Low Activity Level in Freelancer's Work Diary on Web Development Job

I am a relatively inexperienced team leader / manager on Upwork. I have a freelancer working on a task to build webpages in WordPress. This is a new contract, and it's my first time working with this Freelancer.

The activity level is an average of approximately 5 (out of 10) in the freelancer's Work Diary for a recent 5 hour block of time. Please see the attached screenshot of one of the least productive 10 minute increments tracked. There is an activity level of 2 out of 10 with virtually no activity on the keyboard and mouse. I assigned very clear instructions, and I don't view this task as one which would require creative thinking. In other words, I would expect the activity level to be much higher, and to not have time tracked where virtually no activity is ocurring.

How do clients typically deal with this? I want the Freelancer to be paid fairly for his time, but I am concerned that I'm being billed for time where no work ocurred.

5 REPLIES 5
spectralua
Community Member

If you will start dispute then this time will be refunded for sure. But you can warn lazy freelancer first to stop cheating with timer.

Possible that FL working at other PC so if you happy with results then ignore activity.

Good advice from above. But there's a chance the freelancer doesn't understand something. He or she may be too nervous to ask. I believe your story at face value, but there's always a chance the mistake is more innocent than it sounds. Perhaps the instructions you thought were clear were not clear to him or her.