🐈
» Forums » Clients » Made an offer... hearing crickets!
Page options
ae2c503b
Community Member

Made an offer... hearing crickets!

Hi, I'm new to UpWork and have made my first offer to a freelancer.  Since the offer, which was extended on 2/21, I've heard nothing from the freelancer (neither acceptance nor rejection). Is the ball in freelancer's court -- or -- mine?

I want to get the work completed and the freelancer seemed competent and willing to do it at the price agreed.

Have I done everything right?  I've sent freelancer 2 follow up messages as well and heard nothing from them.

Sincerely,

Shannon

6 REPLIES 6
prestonhunter
Community Member

Shannon:

re: "Is the ball in freelancer's court -- or -- mine?"

If you clicked the "Hire" button, then the ball is in the freelancer's court.

You CAN send a reminder message via Messages if you want to. But normally you shouldn't need to do so.

I have hired over 100 freelancers on Upwork.

Usually when I send a hire offer, it is quickly accepted and a freelancer starts earning money.

But not always. I'm sure if I counted them up there would be over a dozen offers that were never accepted.

To be perfectly honest, I hire too many freelancers to really care why someone doesn't accept a hire offer... even after discussing the project.

I just hire other people.

If I send a hire offer to a freelancer who doesn't accept the offer, I have no obligation to that freelancer. I can leave the offer open if I would really like her to work on the project, regardless of if I hire other people. Or I can withdraw the offer.

Thanks Preston... I wasn't sure if the freelancer was declining the offer or if further action was required on my part. At this point, the offer has sat for 5 days with no response. I targeted this freelancer, on the recommendation of a co-worker and high score of freelancer...  I guess I'll give a deadline and start again.

Thank you again for your prompt reply.
Shannon

pudingstudio
Community Member