🐈
» Forums » Clients » Why do freelancers withdraw their proposals?
Page options
7998c89c
Community Member

Why do freelancers withdraw their proposals?

I posted a job and out of 24 proposals, 5 have been withdrawn. One of those I was in the middle of messaging, I had told him more about the job and I asked him for some examples of past work, which he sent me. Two hours later he had withdrawn his proposal. I'm new to upwork and I'm trying to understand why proposals are withdrawn, if there is something I am not doing correctly. Thank you for your advise.

17 REPLIES 17
AndreaG

Hi Nick,

Freelancers have the option to withdraw proposals on their end manually. Sometimes they do it because they'd like to change something and resubmit, or maybe they are not interested in the job post anymore. Another possibility to keep in mind is that, if a hold is placed on a freelancer account, all of their active proposals will be withdrawn since they would be unable to start a contract anyway.

~Andrea
Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Member

Nick:

There may indeed be things that you could improve with regards to how you are posting jobs and hiring.

I have hired 178 freelancers on Upwork. Sometimes I want something done quickly.

I am able to post a job, AND hire a freelancer AND have the work COMPLETED within one or two hours. These jobs are often for extremely specialized tasks that only a small number of freelancers on Upwork would be able to do.

If you are concerned about how long it takes, or how much effort it takes, to post jobs and hire freelancers, then it is likely that you are not completely aware of best practices that successful clients utilize to accomplish their goals.

If you want advice, feel free to tell us a little more about what you are trying to accomplish with your hiring, what kind of freelancers you want to hire, etc., and Forum participants will be able to provide you with tips.

You absolutely do have a point.

luqman_mak
Community Member