🐈
» Community » Community Blog » Biteable VP of Marketing Shares Tips for Find...
Page options
Aug 18, 2022
Biteable VP of Marketing Shares Tips for Finding Your Perfect Hire on Upwork

The benefits of freelance work for short-term projects

As the VP of Marketing at Biteable, I have over 18 years of experience in marketing. For over 12 years, I’ve hired and managed dozens of people. I’m a big believer in developing and retaining in-house talent.

However, it’s unrealistic to think that you’ll never have a short-term project that requires specific expertise your team doesn’t have. Additionally, it’s unlikely that you have an unlimited budget to hire full-time equivalent roles for every need your team has.

In those cases, hiring a freelancer for short-term or spot projects is perfect. Even at Biteable where we develop the leading solution for people to create concise, engaging, on-brand videos that bring their messages to life, we sometimes need advanced and highly technical video editing skills for some projects. In those times, and others, we’ve relied on Upwork to help fill the gaps.

Save time

If you’ve ever hired a FTE for your team, you know that it can take months to find the right person. According to a LinkedIn survey, 50% of respondents said it took 1-2 months, and 17% said the time to hire was 3-4 months.

Those lucky enough to have a recruiter to help are spared the time it takes to review dozens, or even hundreds, of resumes. For those of us who don’t have a recruiter to help, you know that you can spend days sorting through each applicant’s resume to find the proverbial needle in the haystack.

Find subject matter experts

With Upwork, I’m able to easily find subject-matter experts by entering a few keywords into a search query. Upwork makes it even easier by prompting you with suggested keywords and job titles to make your search results even better.