🐈
» Community » Community Blog » Career CloseUp: Video Editor & Agency Owner
Page options
Feb 24, 2023
Career CloseUp: Video Editor & Agency Owner

Hey everybody my name is Kristen and I am the founder and lead editor at Kosmos Post. I provide video editing for iconic influencers and industry titans. I've been doing this for about five and a half years and at this point the business is making over six figures a year. So just about five years– to six figures. So I graduated from college with a Political Science degree in 2009, which was a difficult time to graduate and try to find a career because not a lot of people were hiring. 

I remember talking to one of my friends who was pursuing a career in web design and finding some success there and thinking, you know, I could do that. I taught myself how to build websites and I said, you know let's do this. But I found that web design actually wasn't for me and I did learn a lot about what my client strategy would be moving forward. 

As a freelancer, or a sole proprietor, or a business with just one person at this point, make sure that you don't burn out. Make sure that you're working for people that you love to work with. I absolutely work with the best clients in the world. For me, that fuels my ability to do the work. 

I wasn't always at this point. I've worked for people who didn't pay me, I've worked for people who didn't respect me it's not always going to be, pretty when you're starting out but as you persevere through those things and find the next opportunity that's better for you, eventually you're going to find yourself with a pocket full of people who are your preferred exact client that you have always dreamed of working for. So persevere, hang in there, and always treat people like you want to be treated.