🐈
» Community » Community Blog » Tech Woman of the Mountains
Page options
Nov 03, 2022
Tech Woman of the Mountains

I belong to the beautiful yet isolated area of Gilgit-Baltistan Pakistan. The vicinity, although rich in natural resources that attract thousands of tourists, does not have much to offer to its people in terms of higher education, employment opportunities, or technology. Thus, students are compelled to move to other cities for higher education.

_DSC0091.JPG

I always felt that women should come forward and become a part of the tech world. I took the responsibility to give back to society in a way that utilizes my skills and knowledge and will help me inspire and motivate women back home. To fully equip myself with the best knowledge of my subject, I did various courses and gained relevant experiences.

After completing my intermediate studies in my hometown, I went to Government College Women's University Faisalabad Pakistan where I studied Computer Science. After graduating, I came back to my hometown with the aim of doing something that will have a profound positive impact on society. However, things did not work out the way I had imagined they would. The first real problem was finding a platform from which I could start working. This struggle was a real eye-opener for me. I spent the time thinking about similar issues that a lot of women out there face. I didn't lose hope and kept searching for opportunities.

Being an active member of social media has played a vital role in my personal and professional development. I availed all the available opportunities through my outreach on social media. I found TechScape on Facebook and little was I aware that it was the start of a transformational journey. The amazing team of TechScape provided me with an opportunity for my skills to flourish and introduced me to Upwork which I consider to be the best marketplace, especially for women like me who are not allowed to work with male colleagues.