🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Canceling a fixed price contract
Page options
aleksova_daria
Community Member

Canceling a fixed price contract

Hi, I'm new to Upwork, and I have just accepted my first fixed-price contract, which seemed like a very simple job. However, I wasn't able to do that job because it was Facebook-related and some Facebook profiles including mine, didn't seem to have that option. I have explained it to my client and she also said that for some profiles that option is not available. 
So my question is what happens if I end the contract? Would I still be paid and how should I return that money? Is it better for me, that I end the contract or my client? Will this affect my JSS and can the client give me bad feedback?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Daria A wrote:

Thank you for your answer. I was supposed to give feedback for a Facebook ad, however, that option wasn't available on my Facebook profile.  

Such jobs are not allowed. Think about it, It's basically fraud by manipulating Facebook's algorithms. Doing this violates both Facebook's and Upwork's terms of service.

Stay WELL clear of anything that involves leaving reviews, they are almost certainly forbidden. It's also obviously completely unethical.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
petra_r
Community Member

Daria A wrote:

So my question is what happens if I end the contract? Would I still be paid and how should I return that money? Is it better for me, that I end the contract or my client? Will this affect my JSS and can the client give me bad feedback?

No, you won't get paid (and you shouldn't get paid because you didn't do the job)

It is better for you to close the contracts, as the client may not leave (private) feedback that way. The contract would only affect your JSS if the client leaves poor (private) feedback.

If the job was to leave some kind of review, then that would not be allowed anyway.  What were you supposed to be doing using your own Facebook profile?