🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client insists on Skype communication with hi...
Page options
lebedev-vitaly
Community Member

Client insists on Skype communication with his employees

Hi, guys. Probably it is a pretty familiar situation for many of you. 

I was hired by a client to do some programming. The client is a project manager. His knowledge of programming is not brilliant. So the client insists on my assistance to his programmer in implementing product I deliver. The programmer is not Upworker, so the means of communication must be Skype. I am not happy with this demand.

My questions are:

1. does the client has a right to insist on Skype
  2. do I break Upwork ToS by using Skype (hourly contract and screenshots of Skype are bound to happen)
  3. can I tell the client that a contract between me and him, so communication with his employee are not a must

Being a novice I would greatly appreciate not only answers to my questions but any tips from experienced colleagues.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "is it a complicated process, does it involves registration on Upwork with all verification routines? Or, maybe, a client can simply add a new team member and thus simplifying the registration procedure?"

It is far easier to add a user to a Skype or Slack conversation.

However, it IS possible to add another person to an Upwork conversation, by adding them as a team member. They don't necessarily need to be a fully-approved freelancer.

Add or Remove Team Members

Team Permissions

Invite Outside Freelancers to Upwork