🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Client is demanding me to do jobs beyond ...
Page options
d98c8a47
Community Member

Client is demanding me to do jobs beyond my scope of skills

Hi all!
         I'm a filmmaker and video editor with a filmmaker profile and background, and I'm working in a hourly contract with this client.
He has an agency with a team of designers, and lately, he's been sending me urgent requests in which I need to resolve both the design and the editing. I couldn't deliver on time ONCE and he got tremendously upset with me saying it was "unacceptable". 
I have been open to make those jobs if they really need me to do it,  but I feel he just crossed the line this time. I'm telling him that I'm not a graphic designer, and making those jobs take a lot of time and research to me. I always ask for  references before starting, and he keeps sayting to me that I should simple use my own criteria.
When he got upset, I sujested him that on urgent requests he should resolve the design part  with his team previously instead of loading me with those responsabilities. But he took it as if I wasn't taking him seriously,  he's convinced it's my fault, and told me I was unprofessional. 

How should I deal with this kinds of situations?  Thank you!

9 REPLIES 9
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Well the client is right. It is unprofessional to take on tasks you are unqualified for. You can end the contract at any time you want. 

Before we put a blame on Fernando, I'd like to know what was agreed as the nature of the hourly contract he has with the client. Did it include the graphic design from the very beginning or have these tasks just been added recently? 

Putting aside the original poster's specific situation, we can talk about this as a general concept: