🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Difficult and abusive client?
Page options
hweselcouch
Community Member

Difficult and abusive client?

Hi Upwork community!

I'm pretty new to freelancing on upwork and I've only ever had amazing experiences with some amazing clients. This week, however, I got a doozy. I'm feeling so bad about my experience I'm ready to stop working on upwork all together. Here's what's happening: 

I accepted an offer to flip a poorly built PowerPoint deck into Google Slides...in under four hours....for $75.

I have over 10 years of presentation design experience so yes, the offer is a little low. I wanted to take the project because it was for an interesting start-up that encourages little kids to play basketball.

I worked so quickly to flip a V1 in under 2 hours that I was sweating. The client approved V1, released $30, and gave me changes for a V2 which I needed to have back to her in another 2 hours. Amazingly, I got it done and sent the final file for her to review.... then, radio silence for four days. 

I reached out to her today and was met with quite the shock when she told me my work was not up to her standards and she was forced to hire another designer. She claims her approval of my V1 was not an OK to start on V2 (even though she gave me notes?) and refuses to pay the other $45. After I picked my jaw up off the floor I kindly responded that what she had done wasn't in good faith, if she didn't intend to pay me for a second draft she should not have a) approved V1 and b) given me notes. I told her I want to make it right for no additional charge but she just keeps saying my work is "unsatisfactory" and she's refusing to pay the difference. This isn't about the money. $75 for four hours of tense, expedited work is already too low to merit any kind of seriou dispute but she's now threatening to leave me an awful review.