🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Graphic Designers how to send client proofs a...
Page options
56b9b9f5
Community Member

Graphic Designers how to send client proofs and how do you share files needed for a job?

Hello Everyone,

I'm relatively new here and wanted to share my recent experience as well as seek some advice from fellow graphic designers on Upwork.

Unfortunately, my first client was fraudulent as they used a fraudulent credit card for verification. It was a tough lesson, but I'm determined to move forward and find genuine clients.

I have been a graphic designer for many years and have always provided PDF proofs to my clients so they can track the progress of their projects. However, I've realized that PDF proofs can easily be printed, raising concerns about the security of my work. So, I'm curious to know how other graphic designers on Upwork handle this issue. Do you mark your PDF proofs with prominent watermarks to protect your work while still showing progress?

Additionally, I'd like to learn about the best practices for clients to share essential materials like logos, photographs, and other supporting content. Do you rely on the Upwork messaging feature to have clients submit content piece by piece, or is it acceptable to set up a platform like Dropbox or a similar file-sharing service for exchanging files securely?

While my initial experience on Upwork had its challenges, I see it as a valuable learning opportunity, especially since it was a small project. As I navigate this platform, your insights and advice on these matters would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time and assistance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
anna_babicheva
Community Member

Heya! 
Brand Designer here. There are two types of scenarios that you might want to consider. First, it's when you're working on fixed-price contract and second is for the hourly.