🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I think I had it
Page options
mathgirl
Community Member

I think I had it

After years on this platform, I am looking for a more steady workflow. I kind of "need" it, and so do my kids.

In the last few days, I went through anything: clients who try to hire me outside the platform, clients who are "ecstatic" about me and who then hire somebody else without informing me nor closing the contract, (bye bye connects) scammers who try to get me to click on "questionable" files while they claim they are about to start the contract.

I am an established professional, knowledgeable, ethical, correct. I am drained and totally pessimistic about the future. Might be a series of unfortunate occurrences, but I find that this platform which used to be a good spot to get good assignments is turning into a meeting place for crooks.

Please excuse my tone, which is rather sad for a Friday evening. First time in my professional life that I expose my feeling this way.

Maybe we should all start reporting clients and colleagues who are making the platform more expensive, less safe, and totally worthless for professionals with solid experience and ethics.

Milena

4 REPLIES 4
Community Member

Milena, I hear you. Even though I haven't been on UW as long as you have, I feel the same way. I'm actually thinking of leaving this platform once I have finished my current projects.

the-right-writer
Community Member

It is sad to see so many great freelancers leaving the platform. Unfortunately, it seems to be what Upwork wants. With the increase in fees for higher earners, and all the other changes, Upwork seems to value anyone who will throw connects over experienced, quality freelancers.