🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is it acceptable for a client to ask me to wo...
Page options
ab02873a
Community Member

Is it acceptable for a client to ask me to work on a peer-to-peer network computer?

This client sent me an invitation for a project and I accepted. I was a little skeptical as I am new to Upwork and only have a few completed projects. I was surprised that a client with a verified payment status and who has spent over $4000 would invite a newbie. But, I accepted the invitation anyway. I asked about the details of the project but the client said she would elaborate via phone call and asked for my number. I did give her my official phone number, and received a call after a while. She asked me if I was comfortable working on Adobe suites. Then she created a contract on Upwork. I was a bit relieved. Few hours later {now) she is asking me to work on her computer through Webex. I have been trying to convey in every possible polite manner that there's no point of me working on the Adobe suites on her computer when I have my own. Also, the cursor is not working real-time through webex. And, even if it does, I doubt how my work would be protected in case they keep my work on their computer and refuse to pay. What should I do now? Also, if I cancel the contract, will my JSS be affected? Is there anyway in which this client can leave a negative review/impact on my Upwork profile if I cancel the contract? Please, help me out with this.

4 REPLIES 4
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

Your first mistake was to give this client your phone number; it's against Upwork's terms of service to supply contact information or discuss projects off of Upwork before a contract is in place. As for her request that you work on her computer, it definitely sounds odd to me that somebody would want you to work in a slower/inefficient manner. You must have asked her why she wanted to do this, so what did she say? And what does the work involve?