🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Mentor?
Page options
angelina_cook
Community Member

Mentor?

Hello! 
  I am new to being a VA. I have been getting spammed with contract offers but almost all of them seem too good to be true (and all of them end up being scams). I was wondering if an experienced VA could help me.

8 REPLIES 8
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Angelina C wrote:

Hello! 
  I am new to being a VA. I have been getting spammed with contract offers but almost all of them seem too good to be true (and all of them end up being scams). I was wondering if an experienced VA could help me.

Pretty much anything that you get unsolicited will be a scam, and no real person on this planet sends checks to strangers for them to buy office equipment (just in case somebody offers that to you...)

Mentoring in the usual sense will be hard to find on an online platform - you are basically asking your competition for free advice, which they might not be willing to give. 

But there's a lot of good advice in the forum, as well as the upwork help section, of course, so make good use of that!

Martina P wrote:

Angelina C wrote:

Hello! 

Pretty much anything that you get unsolicited will be a scam, and no real person on this planet sends checks to strangers for them to buy office equipment (just in case somebody offers that to you...)

Mentoring in the usual sense will be hard to find on an online platform - you are basically asking your competition for free advice, which they might not be willing to give. 

But there's a lot of good advice in the forum, as well as the upwork help section, of course, so make good use of that!

This has not been my experience. I often get direct job offers with absolutly no conversation and no proposal. I just don't accept them right away. I talk to them, get alll the details and feel it out. I would say the majority of them are real jobs. 

allergywriter
Community Member

Trust your instincts.

If it is too good to be true, it is.