Page options
salima-noorani
Community Member

Need Advice.

Hello,

I offer two services on Upwork

1-  Accounting services

2- Content writing.

I am a professional accountant with more than 6 years of experience. And writing is my hobby. So far the jobs I have completed are related to Content writing. Out of the interviews I have got only one of them was related to accounting but I had to refuse the job because of the low pay.

What could be the possible reason for not being successful in my field of expertise? 

I am wondering if my profile has to do something with it. I have two profiles

1- General - for accounting services 

2- Specialized-  for content writing

I have recently learned you can edit your work history and portfolio in a specialized profile but not in a general one. This makes it easy for sorting relevant jobs and samples to their respective profiles. So Should I make a specialized profile for my accounting services and completely alter my general profile? or it doesn't make any difference? Any tips on what to include in a general profile?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kinector
Community Member

Salima, short answer: Freelancing is an expert's game. Experts get the best clients, experts get paid much better than "normal" workers in companies, experts are always needed for the demanding jobs they've spent years or decades in learning to do really well and fast at the same time.

If your profile looks like that of a non-expert, particularly if you have two completely different fields as your claimed specialties, you might unintentionally make an inconsistent impression.

So, what are you REALLY good at? Accounting or writing?

This platform works best if you have one clearly defined specialty. Once you have built a long work history, you can slowly expand the offering when you don't need to worry about the review and earning stats so much anymore.

I have specialized profiles too but there is a big common nominator in the general field of expertise.