🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Networking requests
Page options
pgregory_indigo
Community Member

Networking requests

I keep getting these requests to "join my professional network", does anyone know what the point of this is? Has anyone here spent any time building up a network on here, and if so, to what end? I'm a little lost as to the point of it myself, I'm a freelancer, and I don't need another network of people with similar skills, I have LinkedIn for that. Am I missing something?

Paul

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
the-right-writer
Community Member

My experience is it is extremely annoying and there should be a way to turn it off!

There are some with thousands of networkers, and they invite more.

I'm not going to become a farmer, or an "agency" and take all these people with no skills to be in my network, so I can find them jobs and educate them on freelancing, money, business, planning...life, while I make the money. 

Networking, as in the dictionary and the way professionals use it, is not what's happening here.

Oh, you are supposed to chat and discuss new and improved ways of freelancing and all the tricks and cool things you can do to harass clients! Run around online and find the latest YouTube video to watch' cause it guarantees you will make millions if you have a certain amount of letters in your profile and proposal.  See, isn't this helpful?

The only people contacting me want everything. I, too, have other ways of communicating with people, and would never use Upwork as "networking."  I have been asking and demanding a way to turn it off, and of course, that went nowhere.

So, I ignore it now and go through and dump people that just want.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
the-right-writer
Community Member

My experience is it is extremely annoying and there should be a way to turn it off!

There are some with thousands of networkers, and they invite more.