🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Quality Upwork jobs getting out of hand?
Page options
f6ed061c
Community Member

Quality Upwork jobs getting out of hand?

The amount of jobs posted on Upwork are absurd these days - so are the applications. Most of these jobs are from new clients on the platform with no reviews and unverified payment methods. 
I think Upwork should funnel down the amounts of these job postings to maintain Upwork's quality of clients and freelancers. I guess this is good for them because I see jobs with 50+ proposals - I assume they're probably trying to make more money from these connects that the jobs itself right now!

Taken in account that we freelancers need to pay for connects to apply for a job, shouldn't these clients do the same? I see a lot of clients with like 10% hire rate it's ridiculous. 

I'm dissappointed and frustrated because although I'm relatively new to Upwork, I've heard many good things about this platform from long time freelancers but I guess these days it has just changed. 

12 REPLIES 12
k_kriikku
Community Member

You said it: it is absurd nowadays! Trying to find jobs and getting recruited is way more expensive now, it takes even 12 or 16 connects to even apply. Today I noticed that it costs connects to have the availability badge on, it's ridiculous! 

And Upwork does nothing about the fact that 90% of the jpb posts are scams. I am very very disappointed. This used to be a great platform, now I just doubt that the reason is just to make money on people who are looking for jobs. 

It is absolutely ridiculous. I see jobs that are paying $10-50 that requires 12-16 connects - how does this even make sense? I used to view Upwork as a platform for viable clients and freelancers to connect but it is now looking like a bargain marketplace.