🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » This offer seems too easy
Page options
liteflyvang
Community Member

This offer seems too easy

The job listing was asking for a General Virtual Assistant as well as asking for someone who had the lowest rates. After I applied the interview process only boiled down to them asking how many hours I could work and I told them 30 hours. However they said they only need 14 hours of my time for the job, 2 hours each day monday to sunday.

All they needed from me was to place up listing for properties they owned to potential buyers. However the pay was $600 biweekly, which just seemed odd to me because they were asking for someone who was offering a low rate to work the job which I said I would do for about $10 per hour.

I'm still relatively new to the platform so I'm unaware of what are legitamite jobs and this one set off too many red flags for me to be comfortable accepting it.

15 REPLIES 15
7f9b79df
Community Member

I suspect they meant "Bi Monthly". Anyhow, a legit client will ALWAY agree to a contract on Upwork. And pay through upwork.

A scam client will want you to do work outside of Upwork, and then pay through some nefarious scheme that may seem legit at first.

If they mention "Telegram"... RUN AWAY!!! Don't look back.

The best you can do is to work with the client, always messaging through the Upwork messaging system, and agree to a contract through Upwork.

There are a number of articles on the Upwork support site for how to spot a scam. And hundreds, if not thousands, of posts here in the forum about spotting scams. Spend some time doing a bit a research and it'll save future you a ton of time and headaches.

ericaandrews
Community Member