🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Can't find work through all the scams!
Page options
c589418c
Community Member

Can't find work through all the scams!

Sure, I'm new to Upwork, but I wasn't born yesterday. 

I've only been on Upwork for a few hours now. I've used up half of my connects (now I have 25 left). I got 2 replies. One was an outright scam that took up 4 hours of my day for nothing. The other one... tried the same tactic. Another one that didn't reply to me has mysteriously been "removed from Upwork," so I'm pretty sure I can assume it was also a scam. I honestly think if I had to report a client as a scam that I should get those connects back. lol. 

and how is this even legal? I see clients offering to pay $3 per hour!? In the US? I see so many scams that I can't find the legitimate work. 

Don't know if I'm gonna make it past my first day. 

4 REPLIES 4
martina_plaschka
Community Member

A lot of US based freelancers express their outrage at the low hourly wages. They seem to forget that there are people from 179 other countries on upwork, in many of them this is a good hourly rate. Clients from the US can hire people from all over the world. Yes, it's legal.

You should always flag scam job postings. You don't get your connects back when you do that, but when upwork removes the posting, you will get them back. 

Don't apply or answer to transcription or data entry jobs, those are not for you. Your rate is too high, your competition charges a fraction. Market better paid skills. Optimize your profile. 

PradeepH

Hi Kristi,

Thank you for your message. I am sorry to hear about your experience. I checked the job post you were referring to and it seems that it's already been taken down because it was in violation of Upwork TOS and action has been taken on the client account. You will receive Connects for the jobs taken down by Upwork for TOS violations within 24-48 hours.