🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » How to set milestones with no information abo...
Page options
60a1b9de
Community Member

How to set milestones with no information about the project... add later?

Newbie here....
I just responded to my first project, so I'm brand new to the whole process.
In the project description, they just said they need a video editor for an ongoing project. That's it. I would have preferred to set Milestones, but with no information about the project I couldn't see how, so I set it to be paid once the project is completed, and the duration to 1-3 months.
So I have 2 things I'm wondering:
1. How do I set Milestones/duration when I don't have any information about the project, and
2. Is it possible to set Milestones and/or change the project duration later, once I've talked to the Buyer and gotten more information about the project?
Thanks

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
feed_my_eyes
Community Member

You can state in your proposal that your price is a placeholder and ask the client to message you to discuss further details. But honestly, I think you should avoid responding to vague, one-sentence job posts. Worst case scenario, they're scams ("I need a [fill in the blank] for ongoing work" is practically from the scammers' bible), but even if legit, clients who don't go into any detail often aren't that serious about hiring. And as a newbie, you'll need to write a very convincing proposal that makes you stand out as uniquely well-qualified in order to get your first job; you're not going to be able to do this if you know nothing about the client's needs. If client just writes "I need a video editor", they'll get 50+ proposals that all say "I know how to edit videos" and it'll be impossible for you to stand out. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
AndreaG
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Bruce,