🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » If employer says CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AT so an...
Page options
laurencismyname
Community Member

If employer says CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AT so and so, is this a scam?

Im still "new" although it's been a couple years since Ive been here, I have no experience with actually being hired, which is quite unbelievable, but my question is:

When a potential employer says "hello, thanks for your submission, PLEASE contact us directly at "HERE" instead.... is this a scam, because they dont want to continue ON UpWork?

I think so, but asking the moderators, OR those who know about this,,, thanks!!!

Lauren

For the internal mods, here is the URL link to my own message inbox, where the "employer" said to reach him via another site: 

https://www.upwork.com/messages/rooms/room_72d4331eabed44b35c1b62512ef9cdb7

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Lauren,  GOOD JOB!

I however don't think he will contact you back, which is a good thing in this case. Make sure you Flag the job as inapropriate.

Note that it is not a «suggestion» from Upwork to remain on their platform, but an «obligation» as per the Terms of Service users (freelancers and clients) agree to when creating an account on Upwork.

To avoid  any problems with your account, the following is a good head-start :

• Do not communicate outside of Upwork by email/text/Whatsapp/Telegram/Skype or other third-party means before being hired on Upwork
  • Apply to jobs only through Upwork
  • Only work if you are officially hired on Upwork
  • Do not accept payment outside of Upwork (PayPal, etc…)
  • Do not send any money to clients
  • Do not provide/offer free samples of work
  • Do not create duplicate account

Keep in mind most scams can be avoided by not communicating outside of Upwork, either from job post or invitation to interview.

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
laurencismyname
Community Member

here was my response to the man: