🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Is this a scam?
Page options
08e2a041
Community Member

Is this a scam?

Hey guys I'm new to the platform and am having a hard time recognizing scams or not. I've sent a proposal to a few people and two of them came back telling me to message the project manager on Whats app and that they would give me the details once I told them what country I was in. Is this something legitimate? Maybe I'm over-thinking it, I just assumed this was a secure platform. Any information would be greatly appreciated. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
58feaef8
Community Member

Nope. 100% scam. Be careful!

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
58feaef8
Community Member

Nope. 100% scam. Be careful!

I just started reading other posts on here about the whats app being a scam.. ugh so annoying. Thanks for the response!

I also received the below:

"Please follow the below link to watch the project demo **Edited for Community Guidelines**
If you can do it as shown in the video then read the project details from this link **Edited for Community Guidelines** and select a project then reply me with your decision about the project (which project have you selected from the given four) Afterward I'll guide you on how you can start.
Thank you."
Link: **Edited for Community Guidelines**

You must pay them to be considered - rediculous really.

ps.If a client wants to interview you via telegram/whatapp/skype, inform the client that you would prefer to stay on the UpWork platform. If they later disappear then you know why.