🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » New to Upwork
Page options
64a68b87
Community Member

New to Upwork

Hi all. Newbie here. I have done some research, went to a voiceover school here in Minneapolis and I am jumping off the cliff to start a new voiceover career in my 60's! I am very excited. Any quick tips for a begginer would be greatly appreciated. And can someone explain how "connects" work? Do I get a certain number of connects per month, and then have to buy them moving forward? Is that correct? It seems scammers are a thing on here also. How do I keep myself safe?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kevaun_b
Community Member

Hey Paul, welcome to Upwork! It's a great place for clients and freelancers to do business in a safe and secure manner. I've been a freelancer on here since 2016 and I don't regret a minute of it. The Help Center is going to be your best resource on here to keep your self safe and within guidelines.

This came from the article on connects: https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211062898-Understanding-and-Using-Connects

Freelancer Basic accounts receive 10 free Connects each month, and Freelancer Plus accounts receive 70 Connects each month (including 10 FREE!). 

Connects are given out each month on the first day of your billing cycle. To see when your billing cycle is, go here and view your "current billing cycle." The first date there is the date you will receive your monthly Connects. For example, if your current billing cycle is listed as Oct. 11, 2022 - Nov. 10, 2022, you will receive your Connects on the 11th of each month. 

Buy Connects

Connects cost $0.15 (USD) each and are sold in bundles or a custom amount of your choice.

To keep yourself from being scammed I would recommend not accepting a job offer off of Upwork and only accept contracts on the platform because for clients to create a contract they have to have a valid payment method that Upwork can charge so you can receive payment for the agreed work you provided.