🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Scammers
Page options
5997fdc4
Community Member

Scammers

I am new to Upwork and have been scammed once and I believe another attempt just occurred today.  I did not fully understand how it works on this site and admittedly am somewhat "desperate" for work as I have been out of a job since January 2023.  I am submitting this as a cautionary tale and have since read that job scams are on the rise!  

I am used to the private sector in which if someone provides contact information that you reach out to that person directly, and that is what I did.  As it turns out, the company (contract roofing solutions) and the people (**Edited for Community Guidelines**) I spoke with and email/texted with were scammers and I DID NOT listen to my inner voice telling me to run, so when offered employment, I provided all the info needed for direct deposit and tax info.  Yes I know...DUH!  As a result, I filed a police report (the guy threatened me when I told him I would not comply with his wishes), put a fraud alert on my credit report, had to change bank accounts, and all the other stuff that goes along with identity theft.  

So this morning, I submitted a proposal, and another person named **Edited for Community Guidelines**reached out to me via text.  I provided my updated resume and left my cell number on it.  I have learned to delete that and my email from my resume if someone asks for a current copy.

I feel like a target now.  I have learned a critical rule of Upwork and I will never respond to anyone outside this platform again!  As a newbie here, I feel like there is so much I don't know and am going to make sure I read/watch everything that Upwork has to offer from here on out!  If it looks too good to be true or you get an inner voice saying run, then listen to it as it probably is and RUN!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
luqman_mak
Community Member

If you havent already, read this: