🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Terms violations by the client
Page options
martas325
Community Member

Terms violations by the client

Hi all,

I am relatively new to UpWork, but  I have had a great experience so far, except for 1 client. 

I am pretty sure he violates the Terms of Service. 

Long story short, he wanted to hire me to write a Systematic Literature review, which is a huge job. He has minimum 3 other posts for the same job (Red Flag#1). He hires me and pays me 20$ for milestone #1 to do some preliminary search and then milestone #2 to develop the list of references. I have completed both, but he keeps demanding more work for this amount, even when I went above and beyond and added more than he asked for  (mind you still don't have a contract for the Systematic Review). But he proceeds to tell me I have to do it for the review in a very pushy way (Red Flag #2).

When I ask for the contract, so I can deliver more he is very defensive (Red Flag  #3). And somewhere in the conversation says: "You can trust me" and "I am offering you the 20$ just a sign of goodwill"(Red Flag #4)! 

This is humiliating to me and to my skills because I am working really hard for those 20$ (6 hours in this case)!

Now, because I am really not happy with this arrangement, I have asked for a contact and raised my fees, because the amount of work for this project has changed based on the feedback I received. 

He did not pay me for milestone #2, even though I have delivered it (all that was asked and more). 

What are my next steps? I don't really want to dispute for 20$, I don't think this money is worth the trouble, but I know he probably does it to others as well..

I would appreciate any feedback! 

Thanks in advance! 

6 REPLIES 6
elastella
Community Member

Re red flags: did you look at the poor feedback this client received?

And, what's usually more important to me, the abysmal feedback he leaves for providers on a regular basis?