🐈
» Forums » Clients » Client reporting and invoices are a trainwrec...
Page options
76f27762
Community Member

Client reporting and invoices are a trainwreck

I have been using Upwork personally as a client for over 10 years and have hired dozens of freelancers. In the last year, I've been using it to hire freelancers for the company I work for. The freelancers are great. Upworks reporting is completely lacking for business.

Nearly all service companies provide invoices in which the customer receives an enumerated list of service details, including quantities and subtotals for each line item within the invoice period. These invoices also include lines any fees, at the bottom is a total amount. Accounting staff can easily understand what was purchased. Because all items are on a single statement it is straightforward to check the math and reconcile the account. I've attached a sample invoice for your reference. More detail in the sample could be helpful, but this is an acceptable level.

However, in the Upwork world, this is unavailable.

First, I have to look at the freelancer’s work diary to see their work in detail. I can only view one day at a time, but I can see all my freelancers. This information is copiable but not exportable. This is the greatest amount of detail, but this detail isn't integrated into any other reports.

Then, I can see the weekly report that shows the time charged by each freelancer per project. This aligns with the weekly labor charges for each freelancer in the transaction history, but it doesn't include any fees.