🐈
» Forums » Support » Upwork holding $6300 without any reason.
Page options
3a0241ba
Community Member

Upwork holding $6300 without any reason.

Hello all, I'm new to Upwork as a client. Hired a freelancer and paid a total of $6000 so far. But suddenly I got an email stating that I need to verify the identity and answer some of the questions related to contract with proof of work. 

I did everything, I got my identity documents verified by Upwork twice. First when I signed up and second via this current email link 

Upwork did the same with the freelancer but also suspended his account with all the funds available on his account. He also told me today that he was able to verify his identity successfully. 

Upwork still not paying the money to freelancer or not refunding the money back to my credit card ... 

I don't really care if you don't pay to freelancer because he only shared the screen shots of the work but not the actually project files and spice codes etc. 

So I'm left empty with no money and no project files which freelancer definitely won't give me untill he gays paid by upwork. 

It was a fixed price contract with 3 milestones approved by me. 

How on earth Upwork keeps the money like that? Will Upwork refund the money if they decide not to pay freelancer ? Of the money gone? Robbed by upwork.com... 

Upwork team isn't responding anymore from the last 48hours or so I kept emailing them but they don't bother replying at all. 

Ridiculous experience 

6 REPLIES 6
spectralua
Community Member

Ridiculous.

Nothing strange that clients gone.

Keep pinging support. It is slow. Almost no peoples there so can take long time.

ArjayM

I'm sorry to learn about this experience, Abdul Sammad,