cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Copyright and content ownership

Frank Z Member Since: Dec 9, 2016
1 of 24

Hello,

I'd appreciate any guidance to ensure both myself and my team use Upwork appropriately.  We're a small local business and have used Upwork successfully for a couple of small design items.  A great first experience.  However, I'm now considering hiring someone (and have actually posted the job) to help me conceptualize a brick and mortar business concept.  I'll need help in areas such as logo / identity as well as storefront design.  In short, I'm a busy business owner and do not want to make a mistep with ownership issues.  I obviously understand the payment part.  The client needs to pay.  But I want to make sure there's nothing more complicated than that.  Completely separate from Upwork, I learned a lesson in that regard when I bought a photo session for some friends who had just had a new baby.  I paid for the session and then they learned that every picture was a charge and their newborn was on the webpage of the photographer's site.  I respect people's work, but don't want to ever assume anything again, so any help here appreciated!  

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 24

This is not a photography studio.

On Upwork, whoever pays owns all the rights. It IS very simple.

Default rules specified by Upwork declare this. Only if the client and freelancer agree to a separate contract is there any difference.

3 of 24

I appreciate the info.  I only used the story to illustrate the point.  Hope it was taken that way.

Community Guru
Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
4 of 24