🐈
» Forums » Clients » Re: Owner of illustustrations
Page options
f18241aa
Community Member

Owner of illustustrations

Hello, 

I am a client seeking an illustrator.  Once I purchase the work - who owns them?  In reading your terms I believe I do. Is this correct?   

Is it againstyupwork's  policy to have the illustrator sign a document, obtained from your community, which states I own 100% of the and will use it as I see fit.  Yes, they will be use in the book. I am also acknowledging them in and on the book.

2- My book is dependent on facial gestures of the character.  In keeping with your policy may I request 3 gestures (sad, happy, you finally got it)  to be drawn at a nominal price of $5 total so I can see if they can accomplish this task?  It would be on an animal of their choice.  Thank you. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I am a client seeking an illustrator. Once I purchase the work - who owns them?"

The client owns all rights to work he pays a freelancer to create.

re: "In reading your terms I believe I do. Is this correct?"

That is correct.

re: "Is it againstyupwork's policy to have the illustrator sign a document, obtained from your community, which states I own 100% of the and will use it as I see fit."

That is perfectly fine.

Completely unnecessary.

Because that is the default contract language when you hire a freelancer on Upwork.

But it is totally fine if you have a freelancer sign an additional contract.

re: "My book is dependent on facial gestures of the character. In keeping with your policy may I request 3 gestures (sad, happy, you finally got it) to be drawn at a nominal price of $5 total so I can see if they can accomplish this task?"

Yes, that is fine.

Obviously if this work is important, you don't hire just one person.

You hire multiple people to test their suitability for the project, and then continue working with the one freelancer (or multiple freelancers) whose work you like the most.